Fish!

Well, I am really excited by my latest project. After I put Frida to bed last night I was hit with a fit of inspiration and just had to make her a toy… fish!

I’d already had the idea to make her a rattle from an old sample tea tin I had around.

Angelwater tea from Silk Road

Angelwater tea from Silk Road

So last night I filled it with dried beans and rice…

Chickpea! My nickname for her in utero.

Chickpea! My nickname for her in utero.

With decades of pattern drafting experience behind me to support my latest creative endeavour, I drew up  a highly sophisticated pattern.

so sofistimicatud.

so sofistimicatud.

I cut out the pieces and made the tea (formerly in the tin) to drink while I sewed.

tea.

tea.

Then I brushed the dust off my dinky sewing machine and prayed that it would work. It did! (I think I would sew more if the bobbin winder on my machine worked and I didn’t have to wind all my bobbins by hand. Ugh!) Anyways, no pics of the sewing since it involved some fiddling. Happily I have a stitch ripper in my sewing kit.

So anyways, want to see the final product?! Here it is:

one side

one side

and the other side.

and the other side.

 

Ta da!!! And best of all, Frida loves it. The rattle is inside the main body. Everything else is made from 100% wool, even the batting. I’m pretty stoked… I could almost start a production line.

So that’s what I did last night. I got to bed kind of late, but it was worth it. Yay 🙂

 

 

4 responses to “Fish!

Leave a Reply

